top of page

Be awesome! Be a book nut! - Dr. Seuss -


I have loved books ever since I was a little child and can vividly remember that I was so proud when I was finally able to read by myself. I am very grateful that all my children now are keen readers, too and our shared passion is to go and explore different bookshops all over London. Our favourite shop is Daunt Books in Marylebone High Street. The shop is stuffed with all sorts of books with an amazing selection of travel books and if you go further into the shop there is a beautiful conservatory-like room with two floors of books. We can spend easily a couple of hours there browsing and their staff is very friendly and helpful. If we are in the mood we head to Waterstones at Piccadilly Circus. Occupying a beautiful art deco building, formerly Simpsons' department store there are six huge floors of books with over 200,000 unique titles. They often have readings and book signings by famous authors, too! As soon as the weather is nice, we go for a walk along the Thames and one of our must-do’s is a stop at Southbank second hand book market. Most of the times we do not buy any books but it is a lot of fun to browse and also to experience the atmosphere. One of my favourite quotes is 'Let us read and let us dance - two amusements that will never do any harm to the world’ by Voltaire - never so current than these days. For any tips on where to shop for books or to dance :-) please contact FOCUS - office@focus-info.com


bottom of page