top of page

Do you know what UCAS means?


In many ways UCAS was akin to my first relocation. I had a rough idea of what I thought UCAS meant, I had heard positive experiences from friends and family and I sort of accepted there was more I would learn along the way. While I knew what these four letters represented- entry to a UK University, I had not done my homework, I had not studied the real meaning, the process, the daily interaction and I did not grasp the work that was required to turn UCAS into a success story.

This year that all changed when my daughter declared she was applying to UK universities. As the American parent in our British/American family I decided to not take this too personally and quickly got to work decoding the four letters that I had semi-ignored yet happily coexisted with previously. If you are curious, or have a child you think might apply for UK universities, I suggest you do some research in advance of your child's final two years in secondary school. The sooner you and your child understand the process of applying to a UK university the sooner you can help your teens make informed decisions. Choosing A levels, securing work experience, volunteering, participating in extra-curricular activities are a few of the areas that should be considered.

To help get acquainted with the UK University admissions process and time lines I highly recommend browsing the UCAS website: https://www.ucas.com/. You will find the answer to what UCAS stands for (hint: Universities and Colleges Admissions Service) and so much more.

A few of us here at FOCUS have recently been through the process with our children so if you want to have a chat feel free to reach out to us. We are happy to share our first-hand experience!

bottom of page